21 Day Challenge Day 6, Just Be Yourself

image

I figure we have all spent a considerable amount of time dealing with the pressures of how we are described. One of the most shocking facts about my life is how few people ever really “saw” me. They connected more with their preconceived ideas about me. Then they put their trip on me about how I was supposed to be different than I was. We experience this in family, the workplace, romance, and even with our children.

Once I became interested in my own emotional healing, I was astonished to learn that I treated myself the same way. I focused more on my description of myself than my actual self. What was I doing? I had to stop this. Instead of criticizing myself for all my faults, I decided to give myself space to just be… simply be…

Activity: Throughout the day, think about how you would describe yourself and how others would describe you. Then immediately apply the understanding: You are you, not the way you or others describe you. You are the describer, not the description. Allow this activity to create a sensation and understanding of freedom for yourself. There is space for you to just be yourself. Give yourself this simple gift of freedom. Say to yourself, “I give myself the space to simply be me.”

Hint: Deep within the acceptance of your whole being, there is space for you to feel, live, and be your truth. No matter what has happened in your life, you survived. You have lived. You are loved. You are wanted. You are what really matters, not the description of you.
 
Love,
Hamilton

“I am an AWESOME, conscious, aware, kind, loving, being!” -Matt Wolfe

Leave a Reply

