21 Day Challenge, Day 3. Patience Is A Virtue

image

I have heard “patience is a virtue” so many times it makes me queasy, but no matter how I look at it, it is true. The irony is that I find I need patience only after I have lost it. It is a conundrum I face every time I have to wait for anything.

I recognized that when I had to wait, I would enter into a repeating process that would inevitably end in my frustration, angst, and negativity. I had no other option other than to begin to feel bad. I needed patience.

One day, while waiting for an appointment, I thought to myself, “What can I do differently?” The following activity is exactly what I did. It was so simple but it revolutionized my life.

Activity: Anytime you have to directly wait for anything (an appointment, at a red light), smile the entire time that you are waiting. Make it a game. See how long you can hold the smile and the good heart-felt feelings it brings up for you.

Hint: The smile can be small or big. Focus on the good feelings that the smile creates, not the waiting. Pay attention to the positive thoughts and memories that are awakened by smiling. The smile opens a channel to happy things. Let positivity increase as you smile. At first you may feel uncomfortable. This is normal. Keep smiling and don’t let the critical voice that can appear in the thoughts take over. Smile right through them and open up even more to your heart.
 
Love,
Hamilton

https://bluemorphofoundation.org/

“I am an AWESOME, conscious, aware, kind, loving, being!” -Matt Wolfe

2 thoughts on “21 Day Challenge, Day 3. Patience Is A Virtue

  1. My personal practice and my routines from day to day demand a lot of patience, so I find myself somewhat delusional after waiting for a specified period of time. My mind wanders and my mind starts playing games with itself to alleviate boredom.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These practices are designed to strengthen the ability to focus. Our mind wonders and attaches to toxic thoughts because we habe not developed the ability to choose which thoughts we give energy to. Focus is key, because soon we begin to choose our thoughts based on our specific intention. We feed those thoughts energy, and that intended mindset begins to manifest in our lives. Little exercises like simply putting a smile on our face when we are in an undesirable situation, begins to generate positive thoughts that when given more attention and energy than the negative, begin to dramatically shift our level of awareness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

